Fr. Rogeri Bacon Opera Qu'dam Hactenus Inedita

Fr. Rogeri Bacon Opera Qu'dam Hactenus Inedita

4.11 - 1251 ratings - Source

The Franciscan Roger Bacon (c.1214-92?) was one of the most significant intellectuals of the thirteenth century. His most important work was the Opus Majus of 1267 (also available in this series). The works included in this volume, edited by J. S. Brewer, had not previously been published, and only one volume of the unpublished works ever appeared, because of Brewer's other commitments. The Opus Minus was a prAccis of the larger work, written at the same time. The Opus Tertium, written the following year, was Bacon's attempt to cover topics which he felt had been omitted, or inadequately explained, in the previous versions; it also includes autobiographical information. Neither the Opus Minus or Opus Tertium survive in their entirety, but Brewer includes all the parts known in 1859. The Compendium Philosophiae deals with Bacon's wide-ranging intellectual interests in all aspects of medieval scholarship.a€œAs these questions, a€ he says, a€œare very perplexing and difiicult, I thought u I would record what I had to say about them, ... u Opus Minus I had not studied them sufiiciently to a prevail on myself to commit my thoughts about a them to writing; ... be reckoned among the most remark- in the preable curiosities of literature, independently of their intrinsic merits. ... the incontrovertible evidence furnished by the treatises themselves, the facts now to be stated would have ap~ peared incredible.

Title:Fr. Rogeri Bacon Opera Qu'dam Hactenus Inedita
Author: Roger Bacon
Publisher:Cambridge University Press - 2012-11-15

You must register with us as either a Registered User before you can Download this Book. You'll be greeted by a simple sign-up page.

Once you have finished the sign-up process, you will be redirected to your download Book page.

How it works:
  • 1. Register a free 1 month Trial Account.
  • 2. Download as many books as you like (Personal use)
  • 3. Cancel the membership at any time if not satisfied.

Click button below to register and download Ebook
Privacy Policy | Contact | DMCA